Welcome, Guest
Username: Password: Remember me

TOPIC: CAPO

CAPO 15 years 2 months ago #651

Last night, one of the members of the group that I was in (Herman) had learned the song we were to "perform" in "C" where the rest of us knew it in "D" so he just CAPOed and everything went really smooth. That was so cool to me as I had never really seen it "done" before....where only 1 person "capoed"...(remember, I'm new at this.) My only problem was that I kept thinking I was playing the wrong chords each time I looked his way and compared his "fingering" to mine....learned really quickly to not look his way ;)
  • Tigerpaws
  • Platinum Boarder
  • Thank you received: 3
The administrator has disabled public write access.

Re:CAPO 15 years 2 months ago #653

I was in the group that EVERYONE was capoed (but me) because "Simple Gifts" for the mandolin is in A(a wonderful key for mandolins)but the guitars and banjo had it in G. Remember to bring your capos, they could save your life one day!!!!
  • pinky57
  • Gold Boarder

Re:CAPO 15 years 2 months ago #658

Bring a capo, or a circle of 5ths cheat sheet...but then you have to insert the new chords, which would feel odd if you practiced it in the key it was tabbed in. We guitar players should practice the songs standard and capo'ed, just in case a mando is in the group. Here's my mental issue: I sometimes get a brain to finger block (which happens even under normal circumstances) when i see the capo on the fretboard, i lose my place with chord fingerings. This is because i don't practice with it enough, so it's an un-familiar object, then my brain has to tell my fingers that the capo is the nut, and so-on.
  • Dave2311
  • Platinum Boarder
Dave

Re:CAPO 15 years 2 months ago #661