Welcome, Guest
Username: Password: Remember me

TOPIC: Rather than just let it die...

Rather than just let it die... 13 years 6 months ago #3903

I've been thinking about the "debate" about putting the chord structure on the board. I absolutely see the argument for it -- it would be lots easier to follow the song. But here's why I'm OK with not having the chords in front of me:

1) It makes me listen. At home, I need the tab (at first) to keep me on track, because there aren't 20 other people playing the song. But in the group setting, I get to hear the song. And heaven help me, I think I'm actually beginning to hear the chord changes. I'm new to the class, and many of last night's songs are not songs I play, but after a few "guided" passes through the chords, I could start to hear the changes and I remembered them better for it.

2) I don't count that well to always know what measure I'm in. Having the chords up there is all well and good, until you lose your place. Then you have to listen to pick it up by ear anyway.

3) So what if I miss a change. If I stay in the right key (probably on the root) and 20 other people are more or less correct, who'll know? There's some safety in numbers, and again, I'll hear it and pick up the right chord again.

Just my 2 cents, YMMV.
  • ckinzel
The administrator has disabled public write access.

Re:Rather than just let it die... 13 years 6 months ago #3907