Welcome, Guest
Username: Password: Remember me

TOPIC: Banjo Strings

Banjo Strings 14 years 6 months ago #2001

All you banjo players, which brand strings do you use?
What guage do you like....Where do you buy them to get the best deal?
  • dstone
  • Fresh Boarder
The administrator has disabled public write access.

Re:Banjo Strings 14 years 5 months ago #2004

I'm no expert but I have experimented some and for my talent level I use the D'adderio J60 light strings. Dave will suggest that you order them from First Quality and at $2.50 a pack, you will not find a better price. You might want to order 2 or 3. Remember to use the discount code.
  • screendude
  • Gold Boarder

Re:Banjo Strings 14 years 5 months ago #2005

I use ernie ball bronze alloy strings. guages 10-13-15-24-10 I like them.
  • jim
  • Senior Boarder
  • jim bennett

Re:Banjo Strings 14 years 5 months ago #2007

American Made Cryogenic Strings. The gauge depends alot on the banjo and how it is setup but I like medium light (like a jd crowe set).
  • brilind

Re:Banjo Strings 14 years 4 months ago #2191

Hey All...I've spent a lot of time sifting through different sets for my sullivan festival, until i found the correct approach.

In the "masters of the five string banjo" the writers collected data on all 50 profiled players. The highest proportion played GHS strings, and about a 1/3 played their own strings (obviously right??)

I play the GHS almost mediums b/c the vamb is crisp like mediums, yet the fingering is smooth like light strings. I am sold on them!

Happy Picking!
  • capttboz
  • Fresh Boarder

Re:Banjo Strings 14 years 4 months ago #2222