Welcome, Guest
Username: Password: Remember me

TOPIC: Getting in the "Zone"

Getting in the "Zone" 14 years 7 months ago #1866

When I was a runner it took about 2 1/2 miles to get in the zone, where everything felt good and I was really having fun. I felt bad for beginning runners who didn't run enough to get the runner's high which came to me at 2 1/2 miles. Maybe endorphin, I don't know really.

So, on Sunday I was playing along and I got in the zone on the mandolin. After listening to the folk show on WLRN, I started playing and I had been playing for over a hour when things started clicking. I put on a record and figured out the key of each song without any real effort and played along with some of the lead. I just "knew" what key it was and I just "knew" about where the lead notes would be. I stayed in the zone for about 15 minutes and then went off to do something else but it sure was fun while it lasted. I've been in the zone before but it always takes at least 1/2 hour of warmup and a good attitude. Sometimes we get going pretty good in the pre-class jams but it usually doesn't last long enough to get really zoned out.
  • axelhead
  • Senior Boarder
The administrator has disabled public write access.

Re:Getting in the "Zone" 14 years 7 months ago #1869

Oh Boy....I see where I'm going to be in trouble...I too was an avid (obsessed) runner....but it always took me at least 7 miles to get "in the zone", this wasn't too hard as I was always training for marathons...so 7 miles wasn't much.....but how does this convert to my music playing????..Jerry = 2 1/2 miles running = 30 minutes to get into zone....me 7 miles runing....perhaps a day to get in the zone???? :S Don't think my fingers will last!
  • Tigerpaws
  • Platinum Boarder
  • Thank you received: 3

Re:Getting in the "Zone" 14 years 7 months ago #1873